The Federal Government has inaugurated the reconstituted National Productivity Order of Merit Award Committee, for the purpose of selecting deserving awardees for conferment. 

The Committee is tasked with the responsibility of selecting and recommending individuals and organisations for confernment of the National Productivity Order of Merit (NPOM) Award by Mr President.

Inaugurating the Committee in Abuja, Minister for Labour and Employment, Dr Chris Ngige, stated that “the reconstitution of this Committee and its inauguration today demonstrate Government’s commitment to issues of productivity and its enhancement in Nigeria.”

Ngige enjoined the Committee to come up with a list of awardees for 2019 and 2020 for approval for confernment of the 2021 NPOM Award by Mr President.

He urged the Committee to apply probity and fairness in the discharge of their responsibility.

He disclosed that the NPOM Award was “instituted by Government to recognize and honour productive individuals and organizations in Nigeria in the year of the award for achievements made in the three preceding years.”

The Committee has Barrister Ikechi Uko, a representative of the Productive Sector, as Chairman, and Ms A.O Adenugba, a Director in National Productivity Centre, as Secretary.

The other members of the Committee are Alhaji Habu Adamu Jajere, representing Nigerian Association of Chamber of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA); Mr Uche Nwokedi, SAN, representing Nigeria Bar Association (NBA); Senator Adawari Pepple, representing Manufacturers Association of Nigeria (MAN); Mr Jamiu A. Abdulkareem, representing the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (OSGF), and Mr Victor Eburajojo, mni, representing Nigeria Employers’ Consultative Association (NECA).

The rest of the members are Mr Jatau Kandu, representing Senate Committee on Labour, Employment and Productivity; Hon. Adamu Ali Wudil, representing House Committee on Labour, Employment and Productivity; Chief Hilary Edime Amodu, representing the Creative Sector; Dr Yerima Peter Tarfa, Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Labour and Employment, and Dr Kashim Akor, Director General, National Productivity Centre (NPC).

The Minister noted that the specific objectives of the NPOM Award are to institutionalize productivity consciousness and excellence in service among workers and organizations in both the public and private sectors in Nigeria; and to recognize and highlight the contributions of the individual workers, as well as organizations, to higher productivity.

The other objectives of the Award are to reward the most productive workers and organizations in both public and private sectors for diligence, high performance, high productivity and research achievements; encourage and foster the spirit of healthy competition amongst workers, firms and companies in Nigeria, and encourage the spirit of self-reliance.

Write a Message