The Federal Ministry of Labour and Employment is one of the oldest Ministries in Nigeria. It began as a Department of Labour in the then Colonial office in 1932 and developed into a full-fledged Ministry in 1952. The functions and responsibilities of the Ministry are captured on the Exclusive Legislative List, under Section 169, item 34, Second Schedule of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended.
The Ministry is structured into six Zonal labour offices, Fourteen Departments consisting of seven Professional and seven Service Departments. It operates through 36 State Labour Offices and the FCT, 23 District Labour Offices and the Labour Desk Office, Geneva, Switzerland. Recently nine (9) Labour Desks were approved for nine Ministries, Department and Agencies. In addition, it oversees Five (5) Parastatals and relates with several national and international Bodies and Organizations.

i. Departments of the Ministry
Employment and wages
Trade Unions Services and Industrial Relations
Productivity Measurement and standards
Social Security and Cooperatives Development
Skills Development and Certification

Occupational Safety and Health
Policy Analysis Research and Statistics
Human Resources
Finance and Accounts
Special Duties and projects
General Services
Reform Coordination and Service Improvement


Six (6) Zonal Labour Offices:
a. South West –Lagos
b. South East – Enugu
c. South-South – Rivers
d. North-East – Bauchi
e. North-West – Kaduna
f. North- Central – Benue

ii. Agencies of the Ministry
National Directorate of Employment (NDE)
National Productivity Centre (NPC)
Michael Imoudu National Institute for Labour Studies (MINILS)
Nigeria Social Insurance Trust Fund (NSITF)
Industrial Arbitration Panel (IAP).

iii. Local and International Social Partners
A. Local:
Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) and affiliate registered Trade Unions
Trade Unions Congress (TUC) and affiliate registered Trade Unions
Nigeria Employers’ Consultative Association (NECA) and all affiliate employers and registered Employers’ Associations
B. International:
International Labour Organization (ILO)
Africa Regional Labour Administration Centre (ARLAC)
Organization of African Trade Union Unity (OATUU)
Africa Union, Labour and Social Affairs Commission (AULSAC)
Organization Of Trade Union of West Africa
Pan African Employers Association
Pan African Productivity Association (PAPA)
International Social Security Association (ISSA)

C. Councils of the Ministry

National Labour Advisory Council (NLAC)
National Industrial Safety Council of Nigeria (NISCN)
National Council on Productivity (NCP)
National Employment Council (NEC)

2. Mandate:
*Development and promotion of productive employment policies and programmes for employment generation and actualization of national employment policies of the Federal Government.
*Stimulation and enhancement of national Productivity Consciousness, rewards for excellence and promotion of national competitiveness.
*Skills Development, upgrading, certification, placement and empowerment of artisans, tradesmen and applicants in various areas of national needs
*Provision of Social Security Coverage, Welfare and Employee’s Compensation to the nation’s workforce
*Provision of Labour Protection Services, supervision, enforcement, Education, Promotion of Social Justice, Ratification, Implementation and Review of National Labour Laws and Policies including collective bargained agreements.
*Trade Unions Education and Training
*International Labour Diplomacy
*Promotion of Occupational Safety and Health
*Enforcement of the Labour Laws

3. Vision Statement: A sustainable enabling environment for full labour force participation through skills development, employment creation, enhanced productivity and peaceful industrial relations that promote decent work principles and practices Mission Statement: To mobilize and deploy resources for a well-coordinated labour administration system and labour force participation in national development built on the principles of Decent Work.

4. Policies and Guidelines:
National Policy on Employment
National Policy on Productivity
National Policy on Occupational Safety, Health and Welfare
National Policy on HIV/AIDS at work
National Policy on Labour Migration
National Policy on Child Labour
Guideline on labour Contracting and Outsourcing in the oil and gas industry
Guidelines on Skills Development and Training

Guidelines on Recruiters Licence and Labour Contractors

National List of Hazardous Child Labour

5. Legal Instruments for Labour Administration:
1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, as amended.
Labour Act, Cap L1, LFN, 2004.
Trade Unions Act, Cap T14, LFN, 2004.
Trade Unions (Amended) Act, 2005.
Trade Disputes Act, Cap T8, LFN, 2004
Trade Disputes (Essential Services) Act, Cap T9, LFN, 2004
National Minimum Wage Act, 2019
Employee’s Compensation Act, 2010
Wages Board and Industrial Council Act, 2004

Cooperative Development Act, CAP C27, 2004

Cooperative Societies Act, CAP C35, 2004

Factories Act, CAP F1, LFN, 2004

Lifting and Allied Work Equipment (Safety) Regulations, 2018

Boiler and Pressure Vessel Regulations, 2018

Factories (Diving at Work) Regulations, 2018
Public Service Rules, Circulars and Notices
ILO Conventions, Recommendations and Protocols